25 Teachers Selected As 2016 Music Educator Award Semifinalists

A total of 25 music teachers from 25 cities across 15 states have been announced as semifinalists for the Music Educator Award presented by The Recording Academy and the GRAMMY Foundation. In total, more than 4,500 initial nominations were submitted from all 50 states.

The award is open to current U.S. music teachers, and anyone can nominate a teacher — students, parents, friends, colleagues, community members, school deans, and administrators. Teachers are also able to nominate themselves, and nominated teachers are notified and invited to fill out an application.

Each year, one recipient is selected from 10 finalists, and will be recognized for their remarkable impact on students' lives. The winner will be flown to the host city of the GRAMMY Awards to accept the award, attend the GRAMMY Awards ceremony and receive a $10,000 honorarium. The nine other finalists will each receive a $1,000 honorarium, and the schools of all 10 finalists will receive matching grants. The honorariums and grants provided to the finalists and schools are made possible by the generosity and support of the GRAMMY Foundation's Education Champions: Converse, Disney Performing Arts, Ford Motor Company Fund, and Journeys.

A complete list of semifinalists is below. The finalists will be announced in December.

Bonnie Anderson
Coronado Village Elementary School, Universal City, Texas

Ben Case
Northwood High School, Irvine, California

Caleb Chapman
Pioneer High School for the Performing Arts, American Fork, Utah

Joyce Click
North Central High School, Indianapolis, Indiana

James Russell Cooper
Henry County High School, New Castle, Kentucky

Mike Dana
Fresno City College, Fresno, California

Krista Fanning
Caddo Middle Magnet, Shreveport, Louisiana

Anne Fennell
Mission Vista High School, Oceanside, California

Doreen Fryling
South Side High School, Rockville Centre, New York

Frank Gawle
Wilton High School, Wilton, Connecticut

Alan Guckian
Eastside Memorial High School, Austin, Texas

Keith Hancock
Tesoro High School, Rancho Santa Margarita, California

Peter Holsberg
The Berkeley Carroll School, Brooklyn, New York

Kathryn Ingerson
Thousand Islands High/Middle School, Clayton New York

Darren McCoy
Oak Harbor High School, Oak Harbor, Washington

Richard McCready
River Hill High School, Clarksville, Maryland

DiAnne Mott
Oppenheim-Ephratah-St. Johnsville Central District, St. Johnsville, New York

Timothy Powell
Martin Methodist College, Pulaski, Tennessee

Penelope Quesada
Lincoln Elementary School, Louisville, Kentucky

Ulli Reiner
Bernardo Heights Middle School/Twin Peaks Middle School, Poway, California

Phillip Riggs
North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, Durham, North Carolina

Bill Swick
Las Vegas Academy of the Arts, Las Vegas, Nevada

Brayer Teague
Downers Grove North High School, Downers Grove, Illinois

Linda Versprille
Cane Bay High School, Summerville South Carolina

Lois Wiggins
Edythe J. Hayes Middle School, Lexington Kentucky

In the Spotlight

Mikey LaSusa

GRAMMY Camp 2013, 2014, 2015


Women In Music: Female Students At GRAMMY Camp Are Breaking the Glass Ceiling

Welcome to GRAMMY Camp. A place where the best and brightest young music industry...

Music Publicist To The Stars Alex Greenberg Visits Journalism Students

On July 20th, 2017, GRAMMY Camp’s Music Journalism students got a special visit from...

MUNA Makes New Fans At GRAMMY Camp

No one’s entirely sure who came up with the name MUNA. The band — composed of...

A Chat with Carianne Marshall

One of the most anticipated events of GRAMMY Camp is always the board meeting where...

The Leader of The Village

On Thursday, July 20th, members of the Los Angeles Chapter Board of the Recording...

Presented By